31 July 2011
Category: News
31 July 2011,

By Ray Beste
Alexandria, MN (July 31st, 2011) – Little Falls, MN driver Scott Atkinson led flag to flag scoring the WISSOTA Late Model win Saturday night at Viking Speedway. Dennis Bitzan turned in his best run to date scoring the win in the WISSOTA Modified finale while Jeff Crouse collected his 12th win of the season in the WISSOTA Super Stock finale. Josh “Buzz” Muzik tallied his first feature win in WISSOTA Midwest Modified competition while Justin Tammen scored his first Viking Speedway feature win of the season in the WISSOTA Street Stock A-main. Fans from all over Central Minnesota were once again treated to some great Amsoil Dirt Track Series Racing action at the high flyin’ ½ mile.

The WISSOTA Midwest Modified A-main was good from start to finish with Alexandria’s own Josh Muzik taking the win. Muzik held off a late surge from Travis Saurer taking the win. The three car battle was a good one during the remaining two laps with Jason Hoffman and Saurer each taking a run at Muzik. In the end, however, it was Muzik holding off Saurer to take the win. Hoffman, Derek Quinn and Brian Haben each turned in top five performances, as well. Eleventh starter William Lund continued his hot streak of consistent performances finishing sixth while Shawn Olson, Randy Laage, Travis Vanderby and Matt Suckow rounded out the top 10.

Clara City, MN driver Justin Tammen jumped to the top side of the speedway taking the lead on lap four, never looking back on the way to his first Viking Speedway victory of the season. Tammen was pressured by pole-sitter Chris Winter during the ladder stages of the event before taking the win. Winter, Tim Jodsaas, 10th starter Tiffany Maus-Krippner and Andrew Bangsund rounded out the top five for the WISSOTA Street Stocks, who boasted 14 entries. Bangsund reigned victorious in heat one while Tammen completed a 56-point night with a win in heat two.

Jeff Crouse once again proved why he is one of the best in the business scoring the win in the WISSOTA Super Stock finale. While most cars worked the bottom of the speedway, Crouse kept his momentum up on the high side of the speedway ultimately overtaking Jason Vejtruba for the lead nine laps into the event. Jon Stepan, Trevor Saurer, Mike Peterson and Matt Miller battled for the second spot in the ladder stages of the event with Stepan taking the second spot. Fourteenth starter, Peterson, finished in the third spot followed by Miller and Saurer. Larry Lund and Derrick Lemke each picked up heat race wins earlier in the evening for the WISSOTA Super Stocks.

Although Curt Lund led the first 12 laps, it was Dennis Bitzan leading the final eight taking the win in the WISSOTA Modified finale. Terry Engebretson, Travis Saurer, and Josh Thoennes each turned in top five performances as well with Dave Schroeder, Mike Storck, 15th starter Kyle Wieberdink, Shane Edgington, and Jason Blascyk rounding out the top 10. Jason Thoennes and Saurer each took home heat race wins for the WISSOTA Modifieds, who drew 16 entries.

The final event of the evening belonged to the WISSOTA Late Models with Scott Atkinson taking the early lead. An early yellow slowed action before Atkinson once again seized control of the 20-lap event. Jeremy Keller and Jeff Wildung did everything in their power to overtake Atkinson but it was not enough as Scott went on to score the win. Keller, Wildung, Seth Brede, and Menomonie, WI traveler Mike Prochnow rounded out the top five. Sixteen entries started the event with 12 taking the checkers.

Join us once again this Saturday night for another regular race program. Races start each and every Saturday night at 6:00. For more information regarding Viking Speedway log onto the track’s website at vikingspeedway.net.


WISSOTA Late Models:
Feature- Scott Atkinson, Jeremy Keller, Jeff Wildung, Seth Brede, Mike Prochnow, Shawn Kirwin, Eric Breeschoten, Joey Ogston, Shaun Peterson, Clarence Washburn, Brad Parson, Logan Atkinson, Scott Lehn, Jeff Schommer, Ricky Weiss, Rick Nelson
Heat 1- Peterson, Brede, Kirwin, Keller, Breeschoten, Nelson, Washburn, Schommer
Heat 2- Prochnow, Weiss, Wildung, S. Atkinson, Ogston, Lehn, L. Atkinson, B. Parson

WISSOTA Modifieds:
Feature- Dennis Bitzan, Curt Lund, Terry Engebretson, Travis Saurer, Josh Thoennes, Dave Schroeder, Mike Storck, Kyle Wieberdink, Shane Edgington, Jason Blascyk, Dallas Gulbrandson, Kyle Koehntop, Brett Hoium, Jake Wildman, Jason Thoennes, Tyler Sjoman
Heat 1- Ja. Thoennes, Bitzan, Blascyk, Jo. Thoennes, Storck, Edgington, Wildman, Koehntop
Heat 2- Saurer, Lund, Engebretson, Schroeder, Gulbrandson, Brett Hoium, Kyle Wieberdink, Tyler Sjoman

WISSOTA Super Stocks:
Feature- Jeff Crouse, Jon Stepan, Mike Peterson, Matt Miller, Trevor Saurer, Jeff Kluver, Terry Merten, Alan Johnson, Jason Vejtruba, Cody Lee, Dominic Baker, Larry Lund, Derrick Lemke, Jeff Flaten
Heat 1- Lund, Stepan, Crouse, Lee, Merten, Alan Johnson, Kluver
Heat 2- Lemke, Vejtruba, Miller, Saurer, Baker, Flaten, Peterson

WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds:
Feature- Josh Muzik, Travis Saurer, Jason Hoffman, Derek Quinn, Brian Haben, William Lund, Shawn Olson, Randy Laage, Travis Vanderby, Matt Suckow, Kelly Haack, Todd Berg, Rick Spanswick, Phil Braun, Zach Hintermeister, Brandon Spanswick, Kyle Reents, Dan Greeley, Chris Mensen, Dustin Bitzan, Brady Gerdes
Heat 1- Mensen, Spanswick, Saurer, Laage, Suckow, Reents, Haack
Heat 2- Gerdes, Braun, Muzik, Lund, Vanderby, Greeley, Spanswick
Heat 3- Hoffman, Haben, Quinn, Olson, Hintermeister, Berg, Bitzan

WISSOTA Street Stocks:
Feature- Justin Tammen, Chris Winter, Tim Jodsaas, Tiffany Maus-Krippner, Andrew Bangsund, Matt Kometz, Jake Huston, William Anderson, Justin Vogel, Chris Ritter, Jim Williams, Brett Miller, Vern Stewart, Dustin Puffe
Heat 1- Bangsund, Jodsaas, Vogel, Ritter, Puffe, Stewart, Huston
Heat 2- Tammen, Miller, Winter, Williams, Maus-Krippner, Kometz, Anderson

Comments are closed.