23 July 2011
Category: News
23 July 2011,

By Ray Beste
Alexandria, MN (July 23rd, 2011) – Zach Johnson took the lead in the ladder stages of the event scoring top honors in the WISSOTA Late Model division Saturday night at Viking Speedway. Mike Storck picked up his first Viking Speedway win since 2007 in the WISSOTA Modified finale while Dave Read scored his first ever Viking Speedway win in the WISSOTA Super Stock A-main. William Lund (WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds) and Adam Burrows (WISSOTA Street Stocks) would also visit victory lane during Casey’s General Stores night at Viking Speedway.

Lund took the lead on lap one when he blasted off from the outside of the first row leaving Darrin Braaten and Dennis Czech left to do battle for second. Several yellows halted action early on before Czech moved into second. Lund and Czech distanced themselves from the rest of the field as they battled for the lead on lap eight. Czech took a peak to the inside of Lund with six to go with William fighting back on the high side retaining the lead. Back in traffic Brad Gerdes looked strong as he moved up six positions from his 13th starting spot to finish in sixth. On the final trip around Czech loaded up his #2 for one final try at Lund. Lund, however, was strong on the top side of the speedway and would take the win. Czech turned in his best Viking Speedway run to date in second with Brian Haben third, Dustin Bitzan fourth, and Jason Hoffman fifth.

West Fargo, ND traveler Adam Burrows led flag to flag scoring his first career Viking Speedway win in the WISSOTA Street Stock division. Justin Tammen, who started fourth, hounded the backside of Burrows during the 12-lap affair with Burrows holding off all of his advances. Andrew Bangsund remained within striking distance during the entire racing finishing third ahead of Justin Vogel and “Nitro” Jimmy Williams. The 15-car field was split into two heat races with Vogel and Bangsund each picking up qualifying wins.

The WISSOTA Super Stock A-main proved to be a good one with Dave Read taking the early lead. Myriad of yellow flags halted action during the early and middle stages of the event with Read remaining out front. Seventh starter Shawn Nolan looked as if he was ready to spoil the party when he moved into the second spot on lap seven. Nolan would track down Read with seven to go as the duo distanced themselves from the rest of the field. Read remained in the groove with Nolan trying everything in an attempt to take the lead. As the field came to the white flag Read still held a two car length advantage over Nolan. On the final trip around Nolan tried everything but it was not enough as Read would take his first ever Viking Speedway WISSOTA Super Stock feature win. Nolan settled for a hard fought second with Jeff Kluver third, Mike Peterson fourth, and Matt Miller fifth.

Dave Schroeder took the lead on lap one of the WISSOTA Modified A-main. Schroeder looked strong early on and was scored the leader at the conclusion of the first circuit. Schroeder would lead for the first nine laps before shutting it down coming off of turn four with the cross flags in the air. Mike Storck would then inherit the lead with Dennis Bitzan and Josh Thoennes behind. After going to the back of the 14-car field early on, Cody Skytland would once again storm to the front cracking the top five with six laps remaining. Bitzan moved to the bottom of the speedway in an attempt to overtake Storck for the lead but it was not to be as Mike took the win. Bitzan finished a strong second with Josh Thoennes third, Jason Thoennes fourth, and Skytland in fifth.

The WISSOTA Late Model A-main proved to be the best race of the evening with Rick Nelson taking the early lead. Back in traffic row four starters Ricky Weiss and Zach Johnson quickly worked their way to the front. On lap eight, the only yellow flag of the event waved which would put Shawn Kirwin and Weiss on the backside of Nelson for the Delaware double-file restart. When the green waved once again, Weiss bolted by both Nelson and Kirwin into the lead. Nelson would be shuffled back to the fourth in the exchange with Johnson taking over third. Weiss held the point with nine to go when Kirwin blasted by for the lead using the bottom of the speedway in turn four. With Kirwin out front, Zach Johnson slammed his #73 machine in on the bottom in turn three. The move would stick as Johnson moved by Kirwin into the lead. From there on out it was all Johnson as he motored on to the win. Weiss settled for second with Kirwin third, Corey Seckerson fourth, and Nelson in fifth.

Join us this Tuesday for “Pack the Stands” night at Viking Speedway. Tuesday night there will be no grandstand admission, FREE to the public. WISSOTA Super Stocks, WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds, and WISSOTA Mod Fours will all compete during the third leg of the Governor’s Ethanol Challenge. Races start Tuesday night at 6:30. For more information regarding Viking Speedway log onto the track’s website at vikingspeedway.net.


WISSOTA Late Models:
Feature- Zach Johnson, Ricky Weiss, Shawn Kirwin, Corey Seckerson, Rick Nelson, Shaun Peterson, Joey Ogston, Ricky Weiss, Jeff Schommer, Seth Brede, Jeff Wildung, Clarence Washburn, Brad Parson
Heat 1- Johnson, Peterson, Brede, Seckerson, Washburn, Parson, Schommer
Heat 2- Weiss, Kirwin, Nelson, Wildung, Ogston, Lehn

WISSOTA Modifieds:
Feature- Mike Storck, Dennis Bitzan, Josh Thoennes, Jason Thoennes, Cody Skytland, Jake Wildman, JB Stortz, Brett Hoium, Dave Schroeder, Dallas Gulbrandson, Jason Blascyk, Terry Engebretson, Travis Saurer, Kyle Wieberdink
Heat 1- Jo. Thoennes, Bitzan, Ja. Thoennes, Schroeder, Gulbrandson, Hoium, Blascyk, Wieberdink
Heat 2- Skytland, Wildman, Storck, Saurer, Engebretson, Stortz

WISSOTA Super Stocks:
Feature- Dave Read, Shawn Nolan, Jeff Kluver, Mike Peterson, Matt Miller, Jon Stepan, Larry Lund, Dominic Baker, Jeff Crouse, Alan Johnson, Terry Merten, Cory Tammen, Jay Hedtke, Jason Vejtruba, Derrick Lemke, Jeff Flaten
Heat 1- Nolan, Lemke, Merten, Kluver, Hedtke, Baker, Flaten
Heat 2- Miller, Read, Lund, Stepan, Crouse, Peterson, Tammen, Vejtruba

WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds:
Feature- William Lund, Dennis Czech, Brian Haben, Dustin Bitzan, Jason Hoffman, Chris Mensen, Brady Gerdes, Ron Saurer, Todd Berg, Josh Muzik, Derek Quinn, Kyle Reents, Scott Zimmerman, Shawn Olson, Tyler Vanderby, Randy Laage, Zach Hintermeister, Ryan Schleusner, Dan Greeley, Travis Saurer, Travis Vanderby, Darrin Braaten, Kelly Haack, Phil Braun
Heat 1- Lund, Hoffman, Bitzan, Berg, Gerdes, Olson, Ty. Vanderby, Greeley
Heat 2- Czech, R. Saurer, Braaten, Mensen, Zimmerman, Quinn, Schleusner, Braun
Heat 3- T. Saurer, Laage, Haben, Reents, Josh Muzik, Hintermeister, Tr. Vanderby, Haack

WISSOTA Street Stocks:
Feature- Adam Burrows, Justin Tammen, Andrew Bangsund, Justin Vogel, Jim Williams, Jordan Tollakson, Brett Miller, Christina Wollak, Jake Huston, Mark Voigt, Tim Jodsaas, Chris Winter, Tiffany Maus-Krippner, Gary Reents, Vernon Stewart
Heat 1- Vogel, Williams, Wollak, Miller, Jodsaas, Reents, Huston, Winter
Heat 2- Bangsund, Tollakson, Burrows, Tammen, Voigt, Maus-Krippner, Stewart

Comments are closed.