4 September 2011
Category: News
4 September 2011,

By Ray Beste
Alexandria, MN (September 4th, 2011) – Jeff Wildung picked right up where he left off scoring his second NLRA Late Model feature win in as many nights Sunday night at Viking Speedway. Not to be outdone, Cody Skytland corralled his second win in as many tries in the WISSOTA Modified finale while Jeff Crouse rallied to take home top honors in the WISSOTA Super Stock A-main. Chris Mensen (WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds) and Tim Jodsaas (WISSOTA Street Stocks) each turned in impressive performances as well during Season Championship night at the steeply banked ½ mile oval located on the Douglas County Fairgrounds in Alexandria, MN.

After leading the majority of the race the night before, Mensen was not going to let this one get away as he cruised on to his first Viking Speedway win of the season. Mensen’s impressive run was proven to be all the more impressive by holding off strong challengers Dustin Bitzan and Travis Saurer in the process. Track regulars Shawn Olson and Jason Hoffman followed the trio to the line in fourth and fifth, respectively.

Tim Jodsaas put a cap on a fine season by scoring his second Viking Speedway WISSOTA Street Stock feature win on Sunday night. “Nitro” Jimmy Williams turned in his best run to date coming home second ahead of a hard charging Justin Vogel, who started sixth. Adam Burrows and Travis Berends each turned in top five performances as well for the WISSOTA Street Stocks, who drew 16 entries. Burrows took top honors in heat race one while Berends reigned victorious in heat race two.

The 2011 season has proved to be a storybook one of sorts for Alexandria’s own, Jeff Crouse. That continued on Sunday night when Crouse rallied from his 10th starting position to tally his 14th win of the season. Steinbach, MB driver Mike Martin was Crouse’s chief rival during the 20-lap thriller with Crouse ultimately taking the win. Martin turned in a great run coming home in the second spot ahead of Derrick Lemke, Cody Lee, and Bryan Hellerman. With the win, Crouse was crowned season champion in the process.

West Fargo, ND hotshoe Cody Skytland once again proved why he is one of the best in the business taking the win in the WISSOTA Modified finale. Skytland was able to move by myriad of drivers early on before sneaking by for the lead. Once out front, Skytland would never relinquish the lead on his way to a mighty impressive victory. Dennis Bitzan looked strong during the 20-lap affair coming home second ahead of the front row starting duo of Brock Gronwold and Kyle Wieberdink. Terry Engebretson rounded out the top five with Jason Thoennes, Jeremy Kerzman, Travis Saurer, Josh Thoennes, and Kyle Koehntop rounding out the top 10.

Although Jeff Wildung scored his second win in as many nights, the story of the night’s 25-lap NLRA A-main was the run turned in by Brad Seng. Seng, who started in the 21st starting position, sliced and diced his way through the field ending an unbelievable run in third spot behind Wildung and eventual 2nd place finisher, Zach Johnson. In the end it was Wildung taking the win in exciting fashion over Johnson, Seng, Ricky Weiss, and 12th starter Shawn Kirwin. Jeff Hinkemeyer, Wildung, Weiss, and Mitch Johnson all took home heat race wins for the NLRA Late Models while Seng was victorious in the division’s lone B-main. Thirty cars packed the pits for night two of Viking Speedway’s annual Labor Day NLRA Doubleheader.

The Speedway will take the next month off before returning on October 6th for the Annual “Viking Fall Classic.” Practice will be held on Thursday, October 6th with the regular program ready to blast on Friday, October 7th. For more information regarding the 2011 Viking Fall Classic log onto vikingspeedway.net. We’ll see you at the Classic!


WISSOTA Late Models:
Feature- Jeff Wildung, Zach Johnson, Brad Seng, Ricky Weiss, Shawn Kirwin, Jeff Hinkemeyer, Dustin Virkus, Doug Herrick, Troy Schill, Mitch Johnson, Todd Frank, Rick Nelson, Shaun Peterson, Mike Balcaen, Scott Atkinson, Bill Mooney, Jeremy Keller, Caley Emerson, Michael Johnson, Joey Ogston, Harold Schill, Josh Johnson, Brad Parson, Corey Nelson, Joel Cryderman, Cole Schill
Heat 1- Hinkemeyer, Frank, Z. Johnson, Herrick, Parson, Schill, L. Atkinson, Fischer
Heat 2- Wildung, Nelson, S. Atkinson, Cryderman, Emerson, Seng, Mooney, Josh Johnson
Heat 3- Weiss, T. Schill, Kirwin, Peterson, H. Schill, Lehn, Schommer
B-main- Seng, Ogston, Mooney, Keller, L. Atkinson

WISSOTA Modifieds:
Feature- Cody Skytland, Dennis Bitzan, Brock Gronwold, Kyle Wieberdink, Terry Engebretson, Jason Thoennes, Jeremy Kerzman, Travis Saurer, Josh Thoennes, Kyle Koehntop, Brett Hoium, Dave Schroeder, Jake Wildman, Brad Gerdes, Mark Esala, Kent Wilms, Dwayne Clarke, Shane Bruns, Bob Gierke, Pete Loecken, Charlie Hilluka, Danny Bayer, Tim Thomas
Heat 1- Skytland, Kerzman, Jo. Thoennes, Gerdes, Schroeder, Thomas, Hilluka, Loecken
Heat 2- Ja. Thoennes, Wieberdink, Gronwold, Gierke, Clarke, Saurer, Bayer, Bruns
Heat 3- Bitzan, Engebretson, Hoium, Koehntop, Esala, Wildman, Wilms

WISSOTA Super Stocks:
Feature- Jeff Crouse, Mike Martin, Derrick Lemke, Cody Lee, Bryan Hellerman, Mike Peterson, Larry Lund, Jeff Kluver, Dominic Baker, Jay Hedtke, Alan Johnson, Jeff Flaten, Jon Stepan, Matt Miller
Heat 1- Flaten, Peterson, Lee, Hellerman, Stepan, Baker, Kluver
Heat 2- Johnson, Martin, Lund, Lemke, Hedtke, Crouse, Miller

WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds:
Feature- Chris Mensen, Dustin Bitzan, Travis Saurer, Shawn Olson, Jason Hoffman, Brandon Spanswick, Travis Vanderby, Ryan Schleusner, Williams Lund, Derek Quinn, Brad Gerdes, Josh Muzik, Brett Johnson, Todd Berg, Kelly Haack, Randy Laage, Tyler Vanderby, Brian Haben, Dan Greeley, Brooke Hellerman, Dustin Bluhm, Kyle Reents, Darrin Braaten, Kenny Klaudt
Heat 1- Saurer, Hoffman, Haben, Hellerman, Tr. Vanderby, Reents, Greeley, Ty. Vanderby
Heat 2- Lund, Spanswick, Mensen, Bluhm, Braaten, Haack, Johnson, Klaudt
Heat 3- Olson, Bitzan, Schleusner, Berg, Gerdes, Laage, Quinn, Muzik

WISSOTA Street Stocks:
Feature- Tim Jodsaas, Jim Williams, Justin Vogel, Adam Burrows, Travis Berends, Mark Blom, Jordan Tollakson, Andrew Bangsund, Scott Huston, Gary Reents, Chris Winter, Jake Huston, Tiffany Maus-Krippner, Russ Carlson, Matt Kometz, Brett Miller
Heat 1- Burrows, Williams, Jodsaas, Blom, J. Huston, Winter, Miller, Reents
Heat 2- Berends, Vogel, Tollakson, Bangsund, Huston, Carlson, Maus-Krippner, Kometz

Comments are closed.