2 June 2012
Category: News
2 June 2012,

With the WISSOTA Late Models taking the night off, the Morris Auto Plaza sponsored WISSOTA Modifieds took center stage on a beautiful sunny Saturday evening at Viking Speedway. When the dust settled Garfield, MN driver Jason Thoennes stood victorious and captured the $800 payday, which was sponsored by Morris Auto Plaza, Beck’s Radiator, and Henry’s Foods. Other drivers claiming main event wins on the evening included Travis Saurer in the Sower Power sponsored WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds, Adam Burrows in the Extreme Auto sponsored WISSOTA Street Stocks, and Jeff Crouse in the Alexandria Refrigeration sponsored WISSOTA Super Stocks.

Josh Muzik and Ryan Schleusner paced the twenty three car Midwest Modified feature to the green for the first feature event of the season. Schleusner was able to jump to an early advantage with Muzik, Randy Laage, Darrin Braaten, and Chris Mensen in tow. The first yellow of the event would fly on lap two as Dan Greely slipped over the banking in turn one. With order restored, head flagman, Layne Roberts dropped the green and the field came to life once again. Schleusner was able to jump back out to an advantage and continued to leave until Chris Mensen lost the bite on his 53 machine in turn two, bringing out another caution. Schleusner once again paced the field as the green came out with Muzik, Laage, William Lund, and Travis Saurer battling for the second spot. Saurer was able to work his way around Lund and then disposed of Schleusner near the midway point of the event. The next yellow came out when Laage’s EZ1 machine made contact with Shawn Olson, ending both drivers night. With six laps remaining the green would fly again and Saurer jumped out to an advantage over Lund. As the final circuits wound down, Lund worked the high side of the track in an effort to derail Saurer, but Saurer was able to hang on and pick up another Viking Speedway feature win. Lund came home second followed by Mensen, who went tailend after causing a yellow early in the race. Eleventh starter Jason Vejtruba and Schleusner rounded out the top five in the caution filled main event. Mensen, Schleusner, and Braaten captured the three heat race wins for the division earlier in the evening.

For the second straight week, Vern Stewart and Tiffany Maus-Krippner paced the WISSOTA Street Stock feature to the green flag. Once the green dropped, North Dakota drivers Adam Burrows and Ryan Pommerer disposed of the row one starters and moved up to battle for the top spot. Burrows was able to open up a nice lead as Pommerer was being challenged for the second spot by defending track champion Andrew Bangsund. The yellow would fly around the midway point of the event for a Rick Pommerer spin in turn two. With the field reset, Burrows blasted out to a comfortable lead and cruised for the win. Following Burrows across the line were Ryan Pommerer, Bangsund, ninth starter Mark Blom, and Brett Miller. Heat race wins were collected by Burrows and Ryan Pommerer earlier in the evening.

Veteran drivers Matt Miller and Jeff Flaten led the eleven car WISSOTA Super Stock feature to the green flag for thier twenty lap main event. Flaten was able to jump out to an early lead and showed the way ahead of Larry Lund, Trevor Saurer and Jeff Crouse. Four laps into the event, Lund lost the bite on his red 54 machine in turn four and brought out the first caution of the race. With Lund sent to the rear of the field, Flaten brought the field to the line once again. Crouse began his march to the front as he used the low line to work around Alan Johnson and Saurer. Crouse continued to work the low line and raced up to challenge Flaten for the lead. Crouse was able to make the pass near the halfway mark. A late race caution put Lund and Cody Lee on Crouse’s back bumper and dispite many challenges from the duo, Crouse held on for his second straight Viking Speedway win. Lund, Lee, Flaten, and Johnson completed the top five in the highly competitive feature. Saurer and track point leader Jon Stepan were heat races winners in the division.

Nineteen WISSOTA Modifieds rolled onto the track for the final feature of the evening with Travis Saurer and Dennis Bitzan leading the way. When the green flag flew Saurer jumped to the bottom of the speedway for the early lead. Jason Thoennes made quick work of Bitzan and worked his way into the second spot. Behind the lead duo the action was fast and furious as Brady Gerdes, Josh Thoennes, Cody Skytland, and Scot Danziesen battled for spots three through seven. The first yellow of the event was brought out when Cody Skytland’s machine cut a tire in turn four and came to a stop on the front stretch. Saurer continued to lead Thoennes when the green came back out while Josh Thoennes snuck into third spot. Behind the top three cars Danziesen, Bitzan and Gerdes were locked in a battle for the fourth spot. The battle would heat up when seventeenth starter Danny Bayer joined the fray. Danziesen was able to get by Gerdes and Bitzan and then set his sights on Josh Thoennes for the third spot. The yellow would fly once again for a Terry Engebretson spin in turn four which collected Dallas Gulbrandson and Jake Wildman. Saurer once again jumped out to a lead with eight laps remaining, with Jason Thoennes lurking in the background. With two laps to go Thoennes moved up a lane in turns 1 and 2 to pull along Saurer as the cars sped down the back chute. Thoennes was able to complete the pass coming out of turn four and led the final lap for his first Viking Speedway win of the season. Saurer, Danziesen, Josh Thoennes, and Bayer rounded out the top five in the nights main event. Thoennes, Bitzan and Skytland were heat races winners.

The high flying half mile track, located at the Douglas County Fairgrounds, in Alexandria, MN will be back in action next Saturday, June 9th, with racing beginning at 6pm. WISSOTA Late Models, Modifieds, Super Stocks, Midwest Modifieds, and Street Stocks will all be back in action. For the latest Viking Speedway news, standings, results, and info please visit the track online at www.vikingspeedway.net.


WISSOTA Modifieds:

Feature: Ja. Thoennes, Saurer, Danziesen, Jo. Thoennes, Bayer, Bitzan, Gerdes, Hoium, Skytland, Gulbrandson, Merten, Gronwold, Wildman, Blascyk, Esala, Loecken, Engebretson, Schroeder, Koehntop

Heat 1: Dennis Bitzan, Travis Saurer, Jake Wildman, Scot Danziesen, Dallas Gulbrandson, Peter Loecken

Heat 2: Cody Syktland, Brett Hoium, Mark Esala, Kyle Koehntop, Jason Blascyk, Terry Merten

Heat 3: Jason Thoennes, Josh Thoennes, Brady Gerdes, Terry Engrebretson, Brock Gronwold, Danny Bayer, Dave Schroeder

WISSOTA Super Stocks:

Feature: Crouse, Lund, Lee, Flaten, Johnson, Saurer, Stepan, Lemke, Baker, Kluver, Miller

Heat 1: Jon Stepan, Jeff Crouse, Larry Lund, Matt Miller, Cody Lee, Jeff Kluver

Heat 2: Trevor Saurer, Jeff Flaten, Alan Johnson, Derrick Lemke, Dominic Baker

WISSOTA Street Stocks:

Feature: Burrows, Ry. Pommerer, Bangsund, Blom, Miller, Maus-Krippner, Ri. Pommerer, Stewart, Spanswick, Winter

Heat 1: Ryan Pommerer, Brett Miller, Andrew Bangsund, Rick Pommerer, Mark Blom

Heat 2: Adam Burrows, Tiffany Maus-Krippner, Chris Winter, Vern Stewart, Tyler Spanswick

WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds:

Feature: T. Saurer, Lund, C. Mensen, Vejtruba, Schleusner, R. Saurer, Bitzan, Braaten, Hoffman, Greeley, Ty. Vanderby, Berg, Olson, Laage, Reents, Muzik, Spanswick, Deters, T. Mensen, Krog, Hintermeister, Tr. Vanderby, Karl

Heat 1: Chris Mensen, William Lund, Travis Saurer, Brian Krog, Ron Saurer, Dan Greeley, Shawn Olson, Tyler Vanderby

Heat 2: Ryan Schleusner, Josh Muzik, Randy Laage, Jason Vejtruba, Dustin Bitzan, Jason Hoffman, Brandon Spanswick, Gary Reents

Heat 3: Darrin Braaten, Kurt Deters, Tim Mensen, Dustin Karl, Travis Vanderby, Todd Berg, Zach Hintermeister

Comments are closed.