3 September 2013
Category: News
3 September 2013,

By: Ryan Schmitz All the Dirt Racing News

Kensington, MN driver, Zach Johnson, gained some valuable national points and earned the $4444 winner’s check as he picked up a hard fought WISSOTA Late Model win at Viking Speedway. Meanwhile, Shawn Olson raced to the WISSOTA Midwest Modified win in front of a large crowd on the second night of the Labor Day Doubleheader. The night’s festivities were sponsored by Lac Qui Parle Farmers for Racing, Wildung Trucking, and Bobcat of Morris.

After some very entertaining heat races and a late model b feature, a nice field of twenty one WISSOTA Midwest Mods took to the starting grid. A pair of #14s, Terry Merten and Jeremy Kerzman, led the field to the green and as the cars entered turn one on the first circuit, Shawn Olson made a move to the low side of the track to claim the lead, from his third starting spot. Olson continued to work the high side of the speedway with Kerzman in tow and the first caution of the event would fly on lap three for a Kyle Reents, Andrew Bangsund, and Jason Hoffman incident. Reents and Hoffman would retire to the pits with heavy damage while Bangsund was able to get back on after a quick tire change. Olson paced the field to the restart and Dusty Bitzan was able to race past Kerzman into the second spot and quickly charged up to challenge Olson for the lead. Olson would continue to run the high groove, as Bitzan tried desperately to get by on the inside. As the laps continued to tick down, Olson began to stretch his lead and raced to the win. Bitzan finished as the runner up, Justin Froemming moved up to third after starting in the number thirteen spot, Ron Saurer was fourth, and Josh Muzik rounded out the top five.

Zach Johnson and Winnipeg, Manitoba driver Mike Balcaen paced the twenty six car WISSOTA Late Model feature to the green. At the drop of the green, Johnson wasted no time in blasting to the lead while Balcaen was forced to battle with Eric Breeschoten and Dustin Strand for the number two spot. Both Breeschoten and Strand, along with Don Shaw were able to get by Balcaen before the first yellow would come out for Bill Mooney, who cut a tire in turn three. Johnson led the field to the green and once again broke out to the lead while Breeschoten and Strand were joined by Jeff Wildung in the race for the second spot. Strand was able to find the middle groove on the track and broke away in an effort to catch Johnson. With thirty four laps remaining, Shaw suffered mechanical issues, while running in the fifth spot and retired to the pits. Wildung was able to work his way into the third spot when the caution would fly once more for Cole Schill, who slipped off the banking in turn four with thirty two laps remaining. On the ensuing restart, Johnson moved back to the lead, while Breeschoten raced back past Wildung for the third spot. The caution would fly once more for Lake Elmo, MN driver Brent Laursen, who cut a tire and spun to a stop on the back chute with twenty six laps remaining. Viking Speedway officials decided to use this caution as the fuel stop for the event as well. After the fuel stop, Johnson bolted back to the lead and never looked back, as he raced to the 4444 special win. Strand was a strong second, Breeschoten was third, Wildung forth, and Grand Forks, ND driver Brad Seng was fifth.

The final two events of the evening, the WISSOTA Modified feature and WISSOTA Street Stock feature were cancelled due to the curfew. The track will now sit idle until the first weekend in October, when the 11th Annual Viking Fall Classic rolls into town. For more information on the classic, please visit fyemotorsports.com. For more information on the speedway, please visit them online at http://www.vikingspeedway.net/ or like the track on facebook.


WISSOTA Late Models:

Feature: Zach Johnson, Dustin Strand, Eric Breeschoten, Jeff Wildung, Brad Seng, Adam Hensel, Chad Mahder, Lance Matthees, Casey Meyer, Norm Olson, Dusty Peterson, Steve Anderson, Bill Mooney, Corey Nelson, Todd Frank, Mike Balcaen, Brent Larson, Dave Zimmerman, Nate Beyenhof, Cole Schill, Nick Beyenhof, Don Shaw, Cody Skytland, Rick Nelson, Shawn Kirwin, Joey Pederson

Heat 1: Breeschoten, Na. Beyenhof, Mahder, Pederson, Washburn, Frank, Zimmerman, Larson

Heat 2: Johnson, C. Meyer, Shaw, Pederson, Matthees, Anderson, Ni. Beyenhof, Michaelsohn

Heat 3: Strand, Balcaen, Skytland, Mooney, Olson, C. Nelson, S. Meyer, Parson

Heat 4: Seng, Wildung, Schill, Hensel, Kirwin, R. Nelson, Lehn

Bmain- Matthees, Frank, Larson, Kirwin, Ni. Beyenhof, C. Nelson, Olson, Clarence Washburn, Dave Zimmerman, Steve Anderson, Shawn Meyer, Brad Parson, Rick Nelson, Scott Lehn, Billy Michaelsohn

WISSOTA Modifieds:

Feature: Cancelled

Heat 1: Don Shaw, Brett Hoium, Brady Gerdes, Terry Engrebretson, Mark Esala, Danny Bayer, Jake Wildman, Mike Storck

Heat 2: Jeremy Nelson, Jay Richardson, Jason Thoennes, Brandon Aggen, Gary Reents, Kyle Koehntop, Todd Berg

Heat 3: Cody Skytland, Dennis Bitzan, Josh Thoennes, Jeff Wildung, Bobby Gierke, Jeff Flaten, Jim Nystrom

WISSOTA Street Stocks:

Feature: Cancelled

Heat 1: Justin Tammen, Justin Vogel, Jake Huston, Scott Stafford, Jimmy Williams, Brendon Scott

Heat 2: Mark Blom, Jordan Tollakson, Adam Burrows, Jason McCoy, Chuck Lundeen, Tiffany Maus-Krippner

Heat 3: Ryan Satter, Shane Kruger, Durand Peterson, Brett Miller, Vern Stewart, Chuck Olson

WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds:

Feature: Shawn Olson, Dusty Bitzan, Justin Froemming, Ron Saurer, Josh Muzik, Travis Vanderby, Cody Lee, Tim Mensen, Scott Zimmerman, Jamie Thorstad, Oren Hoeper, Todd Soderstrom, Brooke Hellerman, Dalton Johnson, Wyatt Ricks, Terry Merten, Jeremy Kerzman, Dennis Kuhnau, Andrew Bangsund, Kyle Reents, Jason Hoffman

Heat 1: Thorstad, Hoffman, Saurer, Bangsund, Froemming, Hellerman, Lee

Heat 2: Kerzman, Olson, Hoeper, Kuhnau, Johnson, Mensen, Zimmerman

Heat 3: Muzik, Merten, Bitzan, Reents, Ricks, Soderstrom, Vanderby

Comments are closed.